34 weeks

I feel like a Barbie doll whose legs have been unsnapped and then put back on incorrectly. It all just feels…off, somehow. The chiropractor said last week that my pelvis is really loose, so I guess that’s why? Also, a lot of the time it feels like I’ve been horsekicked in the ladybits. Ouch. This is why I like sitting on the couch so much. However, even sitting so much, I’ve noticed that my feet are swelling even more–on the top, like a cake pan that’s overfull. Gross. My ankles are so swollen they’re wider even than cankles.

34 weeks twin pregnancy photo

After a week of no belly circumference growth, this week it bloomed two more inches to 49! Excellent. My hips also gained another inch, which again probably explains the discomfort. (If you haven’t already, you can look at the belly photo series linked above.)

Weekly fetal monitoring this week: A and B, but mostly B, were rolling around and hiding from the monitors. Three different nurses spent a good half hour trying to nail them down! A and B should know that they better not try any of that nonsense once they’re on the outside–no way Mommy’s putting up with that.

I gained EIGHT pounds in a WEEK. Eight! I think a lot of it is in my ankles. Also, as of yesterday, I’ve now officially gained sixty pounds.

Yesterday we had a growth scan. Both A and B gained more than a pound, and A has begun to catch up a bit in weight. They’re now 7oz apart instead of just over a pound. That is good news. The tech had a hard time with A, who was rolling all over the place having a grand old time.

Oh, and we saw something really cool–both A and B have hair! A lot of hair! I didn’t even know that an ultrasound could see something like that. I myself was born with a full head of hair, so I had already been expecting that at least one of these would also have some hair. But it was pretty neat to see it on the ultrasound screen.

There are less than three weeks or so–at the very most–left until these two arrive. We still haven’t installed car seats or packed a hospital bag–better get to work!

6 thoughts on “34 weeks

  1. Can’t wait to see my little cousins! ā¤ The last 3-6 weeks are always the worst when it comes to comfort. I can't IMAGINE doing it with twins. You rock mama! Try elevating your feet and drinking LOTS AND LOTS of water (which I am sure you are already doing.) šŸ˜‰

    • Our couch has recliners built in. šŸ™‚ And I do drink water, but probably not as much as I should. The doctor suggested hanging out in a deep pool for pressure to lessen some of the swelling–might try that next week.

  2. eeee! so exciting! get those car seats in, stat. chris installed ours in holly’s car and then i went in to labor two days later. šŸ˜‰

    • Yikes, two days?! We did the car seats last night in the new car–and I hope we have more than two days left, but who knows. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

