DIY Maternity Photos

If we had the budget for it, I would have loved to do a professional maternity photo session. This is a once in a lifetime experience (we hope!), and I know that I will enjoy looking back on the photographic evidence of this pregnancy journey.

Alas, we don’t have that budget. I do plan to do a newborn photo session, though. Partly because I don’t imagine I’ll be physically able to take many photos at the very beginning (my last year of hospital newborn photography involved a lot of bending and twisting, two actions that I am currently physically unable to do, and I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to for at least another month, if not longer), and partly because I don’t have a studio setup/equipment to get the kind of baby and family shots I’d love to have.

This week the weather was going to turn icky, and I’m not very mobile any more (am supposed to be mostly sitting/lying down), so Andy agreed to do a few quick photos in our front yard. These aren’t the best or most creative maternity photos around, but they’ll do. 🙂

I set up my tripod and attached my SB-800 flash, using a Demb Flip-It to bounce the light.

5 thoughts on “DIY Maternity Photos

  1. A week and a half!! Crazy how fast time flies! Newborn photos are definitely difficult to get. Lots of early moments I wish would have been captured, but birthing really does slow you down! That and caring for a newborn, in your case 2! Seth and I didn’t do any too formal photos – kind of wish we had now, but I am going to not dwell too much and be satisfied with what we did get!

    • You can always do a session later on! I did one with a six month old that turned out super cute, because he was so smiley and happy and interactive with his parents. 🙂

    • Yes, I love how green it is! And even though we’re right in a real neighborhood, there are trees and shrubbery that hide a lot of neighboring houses.

  2. Pingback: Before and After Baby Tips | We Have Twins?!

Leave a Reply

