Expectant Mamas: Giveaway!

DSC_6373_WEB  I have never been a huge fan of e-books and e-readers, or at least the idea of them; I am such a book lover and the tactile experience of a real book is just priceless to me.

Now, I did take my husband’s first, old Kindle on some work trips and vacations, and the convenience of many books in one slim gadget is invaluable. But I maintained that use as an outlier, not the norm.

DSC_6414_WEBThat said….since the babies were born, I’ve been reading almost exclusively on a Kindle. (It’s a Kindle Fire handed down from my MIL.) An e-reader has turned out to be one of my favorite post-baby tools! There’s not much happening online during a 4am baby feeding, so you might as well get lost in a book for a few minutes.

DSC_6392_WEBThe convenience of reading one-handed, in the dark if need be, is amazing. The ability to shop online for a library or new book, click a few buttons, and have it appear on your device instantly…well, it’s downright magical! Lord knows you won’t be taking a leisurely stroll through a bookstore or library with a brand new baby–with an e-reader, the library is in your hands. Like I said, MAGICAL.

DSC_6396_WEBMy husband was gifted a new Kindle Paperwhite for Christmas, so his older Kindle Touch is lonely and needs a new home. So guess what–we want to gift someone else the magic convenience of an e-reader. We’ll also include a booklight so you can read in the dark without disturbing baby or partner!

If you are expecting a baby, or have just had one (or more!) within the last month, please leave a comment below to enter. Leave your due date/baby’s birth date, and a book that’s on your list to read. Last day to enter is Friday, February 28, 2014 at 11.59pm PST.

Legal: You must be over 18 years old and a resident of the United States. Make sure that your email address is on/in your comment ID so I can contact you. The prize of this giveaway is a used Kindle Touch. This giveaway sweepstakes is NOT affiliated with or sponsored by Amazon.com or Kindle.

DSC_6416_WEB

Helpfully seasoned by Malcolm.

I will randomly select a winner using random.org on March 1, 2014. I will be sending the winner the Kindle and booklight, plus maybe a surprise. 🙂

UPDATE: And the winner is….Jenni! Congratulations! And congrats to everyone on their pregnancies, I can’t wait to see photos of all the new babies. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Expectant Mamas: Giveaway!

  1. this is such a cool giveaway! i’m with you on being insistent that paper books are The Thing, but i have grown to really love my ebooks (not least because i can download free ones from the library). i qualify in that i’m pregnant (of course), but don’t want to officially enter because i do have an ipad mini, but i just wanted to comment because this is such a wonderful giveaway!! (and i’m also glad to know there’s a chance i’ll still read once i have a baby around 😉 )

    • Thank you! And yes, reading is definitely possible! Though sometimes I guess one has to choose between reading (or eating, or watching tv, or crafting) and sleep….

  2. What a great idea! I LOVE to read and have been wondering how I’ll manage to do that when the twins are born – they’re technically due 7/1/14, but since they’re twins the real due date is 6/17/14. Book I want to read: Insurgent by Veronica Roth. 🙂 Thanks!

    • Ooh, yay twins! Hope your pregnancy is going well. If you win you’ll have plenty of time to read before they arrive! 🙂 Good luck and thanks so much for reading and entering!

  3. What great advise for the 4 am feeding times. I am avid reader and have a hard time giving up the paper book. I also listen to audio books so i can multi task. But given the amount of quiet time im due to have this is the perfect solution. I am due with Twins August 20th but as Eowyn Wood’s comment they will most likely be arriving in late July. Next up on my list is The gold Finch by Donna Tartt. Thank you again cheers!

    • More twins, hurray!! Good idea with audio books; I too listen to podcasts to multitask sometimes. 🙂 My husband just started The Goldfinch; apparently it is The Book To Read This Year! Thanks so much for reading and entering the giveaway–good luck!

Leave a Reply

