Things I Love Thursday: Sunhats

On some Thursdays, I’ll share something random that I’m really liking, enjoying, or appreciating. Just a little post to share a little snippet of life right now. I’d love to know if you also like these things, and what you’re randomly into these days!

At the end of May, I was at Target and bought myself a white floppy sunhat.

Oh my god, how did I not know that sunhats were the best thing ever?

IMG_4973_WEB

I’m a fair-eyed gal who prefers wearing glasses. The Portland days are long, with the hottest, sunniest time of day at the end. We go outside pretty much every night after the twins’ dinner, when the sun is out and fierce and in my eyes. The playground near our house has no shade cover, and the sun seems to be EVERYWHERE. Even if I happen to have contacts in and can therefore wear my sunglasses, it is still not enough. Oh, the squinting, the sweating, the hand trying to shade my eyes and face in vain, the misery.

Enter the sunhat. No more squinting! I can wear my glasses and be very comfortable. My face is kept sun-free! What a revelation!

IMG_5920_WEB

Sunhats have always seemed like a thing for older ladies, or for stylish younger women who can get away with effortless and whimsical things like hats, hoop earrings, and strappy shoes. But now I’m proudly pro-hat, even if I may not be cool enough to carry it off. (Or maybe I’m just old now. Whatevs.) What a happy difference it makes!

What are you loving this Thursday?

Leave a Reply

