Things I Love Thursday: Vintage Quiet Book

On some Thursdays, I’ll share something random that I’m really liking, enjoying, or appreciating. Just a little post to share a little snippet of life right now. I’d love to know if you also like these things, and what you’re randomly into these days!

In the last year or so, I’ve seen people online talking about quiet books. When they explained it, I was like, I totally had one of those! I loved it!

A quiet book is basically a hands-on-activity book (unlike a book you draw/write/color in), aimed at toddlers/preschoolers. There are tons of ideas and options out there; here are results from Etsy and Pinterest if you want to buy or make your own.

I asked my mom about it recently, and she just found it! Our guys have already played with some of it.

Here is what our vintage quiet book contains, if you want some ideas or inspiration. The pages are a bit stained, and some of the velcro bits need to be repaired or replaced, but in general, it’s in decent shape for being more than thirty years old!

DSC_5866_WEB

DSC_5867_WEB

(There are three mini ladybugs inside.)

DSC_5869_WEB DSC_5870_WEB DSC_5871_WEB DSC_5872_WEB DSC_5873_WEB DSC_5874_WEB DSC_5875_WEB DSC_5876_WEB DSC_5877_WEB

(This page is how I learned to braid!)

DSC_5878_WEB DSC_5879_WEB DSC_5880_WEB DSC_5881_WEB

Did you have a book like this when you were little? Do you have one now for your little one? Would you ever make one?

5 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday: Vintage Quiet Book

  1. AHHHHHHH I have this too!!!! except I have a shoe, not a football. and no clothesline — that is so cute!. it’s funny to see it rendered in different fabrics. I had no idea it was a *thing*. Volcano LOVES it (and has lost three of the balloons somewhere).

    • Oh that’s so cool!! I want to see yours! How awesome that you still have it and that your own baby gets to play with it! Someday I want to have this one ‘fixed up’ a bit so it will be a little sturdier/last a little longer. And/or add some new pages.

  2. Hi, Jules! It IS super fun to see other versions of these books. My mom made one for me when I was little. It’s not in front of me, but I believe it has my name on the cover. Callum has mine, but he also has one my mom made HIM when he was born. He’s not much of a sit-by-himself-and-be-quiet kinda’ guy, so he hasn’t done much with them yet, but we’re about to embark on a 12-hour Thanksgiving drive to the midwest, so maybe I’ll pack them and see how it goes!

    • What a cool mom you have to make one for you *and* then Collum!! And yeah, I think these books have limited use/excitement for under 3, just because there’s a lot of fine motor skills involved. Definitely sounds like a good idea for a long drive–you’ll want as many things as possible I’m sure! 🙂

  3. I have one that looks very similar to this but different hand writing. In the back it has a piece of cloth that says specially hand made by Virginia. I thought my grandma made it for me but that’s not her name.

Leave a Reply

