Spring 2015: Easter and Tulips

Early April was a busy time! First Andy went on a short work trip, and my mom came down to visit and help out.

DSC_9475_WEB

That weekend was Easter, and we took a trip to see the Easter bunny on Saturday. (Since it was the day before, there was no line! We also hit up the mall carousel, plus had a food court snack, and played with the trains at the bookstore, so it was a nice, full outing.) E was really excited to see the Easter bunny and waved and smiled and was cool sitting on his lap. M refused, so we did a family shot, and of course they looked their normal stoic.

Easter 2015_WEB

On Easter Sunday, we met my dad at Edgefield for the Easter brunch buffet. (I heart buffets for dining out with toddlers!) They enjoyed the food–mainly eating bread, bacon, some fruit, and orange juice, and wanted some of the chocolate dessert too (only one bite). Then we had some time to run around:

DSC_9664_WEB DSC_9675_WEB DSC_9678-7_WEB DSC_9683-8_WEB DSC_9701-10_WEB

They got some Easter presents from Grandpa! DSC_9720-1_WEB DSC_9723-5_WEB

After their nap, I ‘made’ their ‘Easter baskets’. They each got a random Easter-y book I found in a bin, a thing of bubbles, and a homemade snack baggie (almonds, a few chocolate cats, and cheesy crackers). They were very excited about the snacks, of course! I guess next year they’ll understand the whole Easter basket of goodies concept and I’ll have to do something not lame. DSC_9728_WEB

We also hid some eggs for them to find…but they were totally not into it! We did some practice egg hunting the previous weekend, and I guess they got over the idea. Emmett pointed at a few eggs but didn’t pick any up, and Malcolm didn’t even come all the way outside. Silly toddlers!

DSC_9731_WEB DSC_9735_WEB

The following week we made it to see the tulips at Wooden Shoe! I of course wanted to wander and take pictures…but twin toddlers don’t equal peaceful meandering. They investigated the various tractors and the tiny windmill and ran around, and I grabbed a few photos as I ran after them. Mainly I wanted a family photo and we did manage to get that. Third one in a row!

DSC_9765-2_WEB IMG_1242_WEBDSC_9768-3_WEB

DSC_9793-7_WEB DSC_9808-9_WEB DSC_9817-11_WEB DSC_9821-12_WEB

Phew! Thankfully May is looking a little quieter.

4 thoughts on “Spring 2015: Easter and Tulips

    • Ha! You should see last year’s tulip family photo–they’re crying and squirming to go explore. πŸ™‚ I was pretty impressed that one of them was actually ‘smiling’ for this! For my own photos, I try to tell myself that it doesn’t matter if they’re both even looking near the camera (both smiling would be some kind of crazy apocalyptic miracle); what matters is that all of us are there in picture together. Smiles and looks will come with time and age, hopefully, maybe. πŸ™‚

  1. I love reading your blog and looking at your wonderful pictures. I am a second time mom to now almost 3 month old twins and reading your blog kinda reassures me that things will get better in time :P. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

